Ministerial appointments monitor – jobs for the boys (and jobs for the girls, too)

Ethnic Communities Minister Jenny Salesa earlier this year revealed that the government every year makes appointments to 429 state sector boards and committees.  The number may well have increased since then.

Ministers accordingly wield substantial power by making appointments or recommending them, creating a perception that appointments are a form of political patronage.

They are also keen to grab opportunities to present awards and – as has been the case with the renaming of the William Wallace awards demonstrates – have no compunction about politicising them.

Point of Order’s weekly monitoring of Beehive press statements to learn who has been favoured by ministerial appointments in the past week – or been given awards – shows this …

26 NOVEMBER 2018

Nominations open for Teaching Council elections

Education Minister Chris Hipkins announced candidate nominations for seven members of the new Teaching Council Board are open, with elections being held in March next year.

Teachers will elect board members from across the profession: a teacher and principal from the both the primary and secondary schools, a teacher and leader from Early Childhood Education, and a teacher educator.

In September, the Government passed legislation changing the organisation’s name from the Education Council to the Teaching Council and returning to teachers the right to elect members to its board.  This right had been removed by the previous government.

“Following the elections, I will appoint a further six members to the Board,” Hipkins said.

Nominations are open until 25 January 2019.

The Teaching Council is an independent organisation representing teachers from early childhood education through to primary and secondary schools. It promotes good teaching practice and provides registration and disciplinary functions.

Information about the elections can be found on the Council’s website 

27 NOVEMBER 2018

A blend of the new and experienced for Waitangi Tribunal

Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta has announced the appointment of eight men and women to the Waitangi Tribunal, three members who are new and five who have been re-appointed.

Ruakere Hond, Kim Ngarimu and Prue Kapua are the three new Tribunal members. All have been appointed for three years.

Dr Angela Ballara, Dr Monty Soutar, Ronald Crosby, Tania Simpson and Professor Pou Temara have been reappointed to the Tribunal.

Information about the new appointees can be found in the minister’s press statement.

Biographies on the reappointed Waitangi Tribunal members are on the Waitangi Tribunal website.

27 NOVEMBER 2018

Appointment to the Guardians Kaitiaki of the Alexander Turnbull Library

Internal Affairs Minister Tracey Martin today announced the appointment of Paul Meredith as a member of the Guardians Kaitiaki of the Alexander Turnbull Library.

The Guardians Kaitiaki has a statutory role to provide the Minister with independent advice on key matters associated with the operation of the Alexander Turnbull Library.

Mr Meredith will join Lyn Provost (chair) and the other current members, Dr Jock Phillips, Dr Sydney Shep, and Victoria Passau.

He will bring experience in mātauranga Māori as well as further the Guardians Kaitiaki knowledge of information technology and management, research knowledge, and governance, Martin said.

His three-year term commenced on 20 November.

27 NOVEMBER 2018

Appointment to the Library and Information Advisory Commission

Internal Affairs Minister Tracey Martin today announced the appointment of Te Paea Paringatai as member of the Library and Information Advisory Commission.

The commission has a statutory role to provide the Minister with independent advice on library and information issues, including mātauranga Māori and access to library and information services. It also advices the Minister on the role of library and information services, in the cultural and economic life of New Zealand and any other requested matters.

Ms Paringatai will join David Reeves as chair and other current members, Dr Judith Johnston, Helen Tait, Carolyn Robertson and Matthew Oliver.

The Minister said she will bring her knowledge of mātauranga Māori, as well as her experience in library and information systems, ensuring the commission has the expertise to continue providing high quality advice to the Minister.

Her term commenced on 20 November 2018.

27 NOVEMBER 2018

Awards for best primary sector employers

Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor congratulated the best primary sector employers at an awards evening at Parliament.

The first ever MPI AGMARDT Primary Industries Good Employer Awards have recognised exceptional employers across the dairy, seafood, forestry and horticulture sectors, he said.

Winners and runners-up are named in the press statement.

28 NOVEMBER 2018

Queen’s Counsel appointments

Attorney-General David Parker has announced the appointments of 10 Queen’s Counsel.

The newly appointed Silks are:

Auckland: Paul Dale, Maria Dew, Vivienne Crawshaw, Belinda Sellars, Robert Hollyman.

Christchurch: James Rapley, Anthony Wilding.

Wellington: Andru Isac.

Dunedin: Margaret Stevens.

Invercargill: Fiona Guy Kidd.

Brief biographical information about the new Queen’s Counsel can be found in the press statement.

28 NOVEMBER 2018

New Board appointment to New Zealand Council for Educational Research

Associate Education Minister Jenny Salesa announced the appointment of Dr Jodie Hunter to the Board of the New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER),

Dr Hunter is a Senior Lecturer at Massey University’s Institute of Education. Her research covers the areas of mathematics, education and Pacific education. She is also a member of the Ministerial Advisory Group developing a 10-year Strategic Plan for Early Learning.

NZCER is New Zealand’s independent, statutory education research and development organisation, established in 1934.

The press statement did not say what it does.

29 NOVEMBER 2018

America’s Cup Community Fund created  

Internal Affairs Minister Tracey Martin announced “a stand-alone Lottery Fund” has been created to provide grants to community groups to enable communities to benefit from Auckland hosting the America’s Cup. It has been allocated $20 million.

A new Lottery Distribution Committee, responsible for making decisions on applications to the Fund, has been appointed.

The members have knowledge and experience from a range of different areas as well as being experienced Lottery Committee members. Katie Noble and Richard Pamatatau have knowledge of Auckland communities’ networks and needs, while Arihia Tuoro and Garth Clarricoat have experience of national funding.

Ms Noble has been appointed as the Chair of the Committee.

The first decision meeting of the Committee will be held in mid-December 2018.

Further information on the Fund can be found on the Department of Internal Affairs Community Matters website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.